What We Carry: A Memoir

What We Carry: A MemoirIn caring for her aging mother and her own young daughter, writer Maya Shanbhag Lang a new voice of the highest caliber Rebecca Makkai confronts the legacy of family myths and how the stories shared between parents and children reverberate through generations a deeply moving memoir about immi



Growing Old: Notes on Aging with Something like Grace

Growing Old: Notes on Aging with Something like GraceFrom the revered author of the bestselling The Hidden Life of Dogs, a witty, engaging, life affirming account of the joy, strength, and wisdom that comes with age n nElizabeth Marshall Thomas has spent a lifetime observing the natural world, chronicling the customs of pre contact hunter gatherers and



The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious IllnessSarah Ramey recounts the decade long saga of how a seemingly minor illness in her senior year of college turned into a prolonged and elusive condition that destroyed her health but that doctors couldn t diagnose or treat Worse, as they failed to cure her, they hinted that her devastating symptoms w





Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America

Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of AmericaAward winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author Gerald Posner traces the heroes and villains of the trillion dollar a year pharmaceutical industry and uncovers how those once entrusted with improving life have often betrayed that ideal to corruption and reckless profiteering with dead




When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living n nAt the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a



The End of October

The End of OctoberIn this riveting medical thriller from the Pulitzer Prize winner and best selling author Dr Henry Parsons, an unlikely but appealing hero, races to find the origins and cure of a mysterious new killer virus as it brings the world to its knees n nAt an internment camp in Indonesia, forty seven peop


The Prison Doctor

The Prison DoctorDr Amanda Brown has treated inmates in the UK s most infamous prisons first in young offenders institutions, then at the notorious Wormwood Scrubs and finally at Europe s largest women only prison in Europe, Bronzefield From miraculous pregnancies to dirty protests, and from violent attacks on p


Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and DreamsA New York Times bestseller The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley s Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sl


The Other Family

The Other FamilyFrom the bestselling author of Digging In comes a witty and moving novel about motherhood, courage, and finding true family n nWith a dissolving marriage, strained finances, and her life in flux, Ally Anderson longs for normal Her greatest concerns, though, are the health problems of her young daugh


Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World

Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern WorldMichael Pollan, known for his best selling nonfiction audio, including The Omnivores Dilemma and How to Change Your Mind, conceived and wrote Caffeine How Caffeine Created the Modern World as an Audible Original In this controversial and exciting listen, Pollan explores caffeine s power as the mos


Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds

Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the OddsFor David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and haunted his nights But through self discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a U.S Armed Forces icon