Quintessence

QuintessenceThree months ago, twelve year old Alma moved to the town of Four Points Her panic attacks started a week later, and they haven t stopped even though she told her parents that they did Every day she feels less and less like herself n nThen Alma meets the ShopKeeper in the town s junk shop, The Fift


Empty

EmptyAn editor at This American Life reveals the searing story of the secret binge eating that dominated her adolescence and shapes her still n nGrowing up, Susan Burton had never heard of binge eating She just knew she felt her best when she was empty, like a straw , as she says something you could bl



The Brave

The BravePerfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother n nCollin can t help himself he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him It s a quirk that makes him a


Irreversible Damage: The Transgender Craze Seducing Our Daughters

Irreversible Damage: The Transgender Craze Seducing Our Daughtersn Irreversible Damage n is an exploration of a mystery Why, in the last decade, has the diagnosis gender dysphoria, transformed from a vanishingly rare affliction, applying almost exclusively to boys and men, to an epidemic among teenage girls Author Abigail Shrier presents shocking statistics




When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living n nAt the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a


The Beauty in Breaking: A Memoir

The Beauty in Breaking: A MemoirAn emergency room physician explores how a life of service to others taught her how to heal herself n nMichele Harper is a female, African American emergency room physician in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white Brought up in Washington, DC, in an abusive family, she went to Harvard,